Objective of the Enriched IT Programme

Embedded in practically all economic sectors, IT is a major driving force for continuous social and economic developments, underpinning innovation, competitiveness and long-term prosperity. With increasing development of IT in almost all spheres of economic activity, we can expect an increase in the demand for IT talents in all respects.

Schools are the best ground to scout and develop IT talents. Early exposure in IT coupled with intensive training on logical thinking and creative problem solving in students' formative years is conducive to nurturing their computational thinking ability to innovate at a young age.

The Financial Secretary announced in the 2014-15 Budget that we plan to incorporate IT enrichment programmes in secondary schools which are outstanding in IT education. By so doing, we hope to cultivate young IT professionals and even entrepreneurs to meet the development needs of a digital society.

The Government Chief Information Officer proposed to implement, on a pilot basis, a two-pronged Enriched IT Programme in secondary schools to be launched in the 2015/16 school year for eight years until 2022/23. The Enriched IT Programme comprises two elements -

(a) Enriched IT Class Programme - enriched IT classes (IT Class) to be run by up to eight selected secondary schools (partner schools) to provide intensive IT training to students who are interested and talented in IT; and

(b) Enriched IT Activities Programme - enriched IT activities (IT Activities) to be organised by secondary schools to foster a pro-IT atmosphere and stimulate interest in IT in the school community.

The two-pronged Enriched IT Programme in secondary schools is a collaborative effort of secondary schools to work with tertiary institutions and industry to cultivate IT talents early in secondary studies.

中學資訊科技增潤計劃目的

資訊科技已融入所有經濟活動,是推動社會及經濟不斷發展、支援創新、提升競爭力和促進長遠繁榮的主要動力。隨着資訊科技在眾多經濟領域不斷發展,我們預期社會對各類資訊科技人才的需求將會與日俱增。

學校是發掘和培育資訊科技人才的最佳地方。學生在成長階段及早接觸資訊科技,並接受啓發邏輯思維及創新解難能力的深入培訓,有助培育他們在年輕時便可掌握以運算思維作創優革新。

財政司司長在2014-15年度政府財政預算案中建議在一些資訊科技教育表現突出的中學,加插增潤課程,培育他們成為資訊科技專才甚至創業家,以滿足數碼社會的發展需求。

政府資訊科技總監提議於二零一五/一六至二零二二/二三這八個學年試行推出雙管齊下的中學資訊科技增潤計劃。擬議計劃包括兩部分-

(a) 資訊科技增潤班計劃 - 選擇不多於八間中學(「伙伴學校」)推行資訊科技增潤班 (增潤班),為對資訊科技感興趣及具才華的學生提供深入的資訊科技培訓;以及

(b) 資訊科技增潤活動計劃 - 由各中學推行資訊科技增潤活動 (增潤活動),以便在校園營造崇尚資訊科技的氛圍,並激發學生對資訊科技的興趣。

有關中學會與大專院校及業界合作推行這個雙管齊下的中學資訊科技增潤計劃,旨在及早在中學培育資訊科技人才。