Home > Showcase > Pui Ching Middle School, a partner school of the “Enriched IT Programme in Secondary Schools”, has won two bronze medals in the “International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) 2020” (with photos)
Pui Ching Middle School, a partner school of the “Enriched IT Programme in Secondary Schools”, has won two bronze medals in the “International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) 2020” (with photos)

Enriched IT Class students, Wai Ka Hei and Yeung Man Tsung, of Pui Ching Middle School, a partner school of the “Enriched IT Programme in Secondary Schools”, won two bronze medals in the “International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) 2020”, which was held from 13 to 19 September 2020, with a total score of 307 and 289.25 respectively.

The programming competition of the IOI was held in two days. On each day contestants were given three tasks to complete in 5 hours and they were required to submit a program for solving the problems given in each task. The source program provided by the contestants would be tested with several sets of test data to calculate the corresponding score according to the results, so as to determine the ranking of each contestant with the total score. For the IOI 2020, of the four students representing Hong Kong to participate in the competition, three are coming from Pui Ching Middle School.

The International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) is an annual international informatics competition which aims to identify young talents and give recognition to those who are exceptionally bright in the field of informatics; and to encourage sharing of technological and cultural experiences among the talented students coming from various countries. There were 343 students coming from 87 countries participating in the 32nd IOI held online in Singapore in September 2020.

主页 > 成就 > 「中学资讯科技增润计划」伙伴学校香港培正中学在「国际电脑奥林匹克竞赛2020」获得两面铜牌(附图)
「中学资讯科技增润计划」伙伴学校香港培正中学在「国际电脑奥林匹克竞赛2020」获得两面铜牌(附图)

「中学资讯科技增润计划」伙伴学校香港培正中学资讯科技增润班同学卫家熙及杨汶璁於2020年9月13日至19日参加「国际电脑奥林匹克竞赛2020」分别以总成绩307及289.25分获得两面铜牌。

这项竞赛的程式设计比赛分两天进行,在每一个比赛日,学生须在五小时内独立解决三个难题,为每一道题目编写一个程式并在比赛结束之前提交。大会将采用多组测试数据对程式进行测试,再按结果计算出相应的分数,最後以参赛者的总成绩决定排名。今次举办的「国际电脑奥林匹克竞赛2020」,有四位学生代表香港参加比赛,而当中三位是来自香港培正中学的。

国际电脑奥林匹克竞赛为一年一度的国际资讯学科竞赛,旨在发掘及表彰那些在资讯学领域非常有才华的年轻学生,并鼓励与来自不同国家的学生分享科技和文化交流。第32届比赛於2020年9月在新加坡以线上形式举行,共有来自87个国家343位学生参加。